Streamed World With Recast Graph

Hi there,

I am a bit new to using this asset, but I am quite liking it so far! I had a couple of questions regarding streaming terrains and having the recast data load specifically for each terrain.

So my world is about 15km x 15km, and I have split each terrain tile into about 500m x 500m. My idea was to generate a recast graph for each terrain tile, and then have the data for each recast graph load with the terrain the player moved around the world. I also was hoping to cache the recast data into a file so that I could reduce the load times when the different tiles are loaded.

I have been having several issues with this. Each terrain is organized in separate scenes which I load async into the world. My original plan was to have each different scene have an A* component in it, which would contain the grid cache which I could load dynamically from the hard drive like the terrain. This did not work, as I have learned we cannot have more than one A* Path component per scene.

Is there a best practice for this sort of thing? I am a bit unsure as how to approach this, so a little bit of guidance would be great! Would there be any negative performance impacts to have the whole 15km x 15km graph loaded into the world even though a very small portion of it is being used? I realize there would probably be a much greater amount of memory used if I had the graph of the whole world loaded at once, but is there anything beyond that? The recast graph is quite detailed as well, with it having a cell size of 0.25 and tile size of 50.

Any help regarding this would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Thank you, and have a great day!

Matthew

Hi

The recommended practice is to have a single AstarPath component and load/unload graphs on that single component.
Here is the documentation page about how to do that: https://www.arongranberg.com/astar/docs/save-load-graphs.php