Total noob with questions on if this will work for my scene

Hello

So i am wondering if this project will work for my scene.

I have a modular building, and each room is essentially a node. I don’t want to use a grid that covers the entire floor of each room, that is a lot of grids and i don’t need such precision. I just want to use the actual transform position of the rooms.

But i couldn’t really see a simple way to do it this way from the documentation, the closest seems to use a huge grid overlay but that just too much for my needs. Not to mention i would have to update that grid each time a room was moved/removed/added which just means more work vs just adding/removing/changing one single node which is the room itself.

Can you give me some points where i should look on the documentation that might help with what I am seeking to implement assuming this project can do what I am looking for.

http://arongranberg.com/astar/docs/class_pathfinding_1_1_point_graph.php

This seems close to what i might need but its not clear if you can add a bool check such as walkable in a script and have the code check it vs checking distance and obstacles. Does it allow flexibility like that?

Thanks

Hi

Ok, so you want each room to be a node. I would suggest the point graph.
However since you are doing all this at runtime. Maybe it would be easier for you (assuming the total number of rooms is relatively small so that you don’t have to bother too much about performance) to create a custom graph generator. That way you can add nodes as you see fit and add connections between them.
See http://arongranberg.com/astar/docs/writing-graph-generators.php
When you move a room you should be able to recalculate the whole graph assuming there are not too many rooms.