Synchronizing AI position over network

Hello,

I’m currently using the RVO solution with a RecastGraph and I’m trying to efficiently handle position synchronization for AI.

Right now, I am using the same script for synchronizing both player and AI position.

I figure that since the server is aware of where the AI is headed, however, the most efficient solution would be to only synchronize the AI’s state (running/walking/stationary/etc) and the waypoint/player it is running toward. I can then simply pass that transform to the client for the AI to move toward.

Instead of sending the actual position of the AI 30 times a second, I will send position only a few times a second to perform position corrections on the client if the position difference between client and server surpasses the error threshold.

With the RVO solution and AIPath, which variable can I reference for synchronizing the point the AI is currently running toward?

Thanks! :slight_smile:

Not being a network expert, I think your solution is the way to go. Some kind of interpolation, either using current position and velocity to extrapolate or interpolate between two positions.

For AIPath, that depends on which type of underlaying controller you are using, CharacterController, Rigidbody etc. if you are using the RVOController, you can access the position and velocity properties of it.
`
RVOController c = GetComponent();
c.velocity;
c.position;

PS: Sorry for the delay, I have been away for some time

Hey Aaron,