Nodal Points on GameObjects as Waypoints?

Hello there Im new to A* pathfinding project but am somewhat familiar with other systems and Ive been looking into this project and Im having difficulty wrapping my head around implementing this into my game.

Im aiming towards a rollercoaster tycoon kind of game. From what I understand each path (one square) has a node and waypoint, when connected making it a valid path to compute. Correct me if Im wrong but this is what I believe how it works rather than generating the whole mesh terrain as its procedural but itd be more memory efficient to compute only possible nodes and paths rather than regenerating the whole terrain that has big chunks of invalid nodes if I were to use the Node Grid generator. The system would would then only update the entire "grid (not sure what to call it because the grid would be unnecessary) when a user places a path rather than checking at a fixed/constant update.

I plan to of course use different height maps and notice that you have a multiple layered grid implemented in the Pro version so Im assuming this can be done with nodes as well.

Nodes are easier to maintain as gameobjects that can be manipulated at runtime without any issues a sell as having that Rollercoaster feel of individuals strictly following a path.

Looking forward towards your response and feedback to help get me started on this approach or any confusion I am undergoing (:

I am not quite sure what you are aiming for.
Is the goal to move a rollercoaster along its track or is this for individuals moving in the park?

@aron_granberg
Individuals moving along a path, something like in the image below. From what I understand the path is essentially a prefab or procedural mesh plane (1x1), and on top of it with a waypoint on it? Im working with 1x1x1 scale cube grids. Which the next floor is inaccessible unless I add a ramp

Heres a pathing flowchart I found
Flowchart