Inconsistent Movement

Hey, I’m pretty new to A* Pathfinding. I bought version 3.x in 2016, but got too busy to do gamedev, so I haven’t actually started using it until just a few days ago. I’m having an issue with using it on simple 2D game. I’m just trying to make an object (an NPC) follow a target (the player) around x and y planes, but the movement isn’t consistent. The object will continually accelerate and decelerate, instead of moving at a continuous speed. You can see it in the attached GIF. The NPC with the helmet has pathfinding, and is chasing the player. The bigger NPC is also chasing the player, but without pathfinding, so it goes through walls; its movement is much smoother in comparison.

Here are the settings I’m using:

Any help would be appreciated.

Hi

I think this is due to the AILerp’s path interpolation together with some settings.

I would guess that your Seeker -> Start End Modifer -> Start Point setting is set to SnapToNode, is that correct?
What happens in that case is that every time the AILerp script calculates a path, it will snap the start point of the path to the center of the nearest node. When the path then has been calculated the start point will not be exactly where the unit is, so the AILerp script will try to smoothly move to the new path over a small amount of time (this is the ‘interpolate path switches’ setting). To solve this I would suggest setting Seeker -> Start End Modifier -> Start Point to ‘ClosestOnNode’ instead which will make the start point of the path line up much better with where the unit actually is.

I’m afraid that the Seeker settings were at their default, i.e. already on Closest On Node. I experimented with the other Start Point options, and the one that came the closest to smooth movement is Original. However, the NPC will still only move around in eight cardinal directions, instead of taking a beeline to the player.

Ok. I’m not sure what could cause that uneven velocity otherwise.