Error Finding Path 2D (can't find end node)

Hi Aaron,

First off, I absolutely love A* - it’s awesome and I’ve been using it for many years. I’m working on a 2D game and running into an issue that all of my forum searches and ridiculous attempts at trying everything haven’t been able to solve.

NPCs move around fine, follow paths based on a scheduling system I implemented, but for whatever reason this one NPC Hans just won’t have any of it. :slight_smile: I’m fairly certain this is a global issue - I’m just mad at Hans.

There’s obviously a ton of code behind all this, so I’ll do my best to break down the issue:

1. Hans is happily walking along a beautiful A* path within my 2D world. When I quit the game, I save his current position, starting position, and target position (all within the node grid).
  2. When I reload the game, I set his AStarAI destination (ai.destination) to the saved target position and he just does the moonwalk in place.
  3. I’m getting following error: Path Failed : Computation Time 0.00 ms Searched Nodes 0
    Error: Couldn’t find a node close to the end point. I looked at your docs on this, and I made sure that the starting and end position are within the node graph (Debug.Logging to make sure these numbers are correct).

I’m happy to provide some code if that’s helpful, but I know that’s probably outside of the scope of your support. Here is my grid setup:

This image is of Hans nicely following a path. I included this so you could see the graph, but also for the console log, as I thought it was a bit weird he was repathing so frequently and sometimes had failtures. He gets to his destination and all is fine, but when I reload the game and start him on his path again, he just walks in place and I get the error above.

This one is of my pathfinding setup.

By no means am I looking for you to solve my issue, but perhaps a little nudge in the right direction with something I could be missing.