Add or remove obstacles during runtime

Hi, I’m a beginner developer who is very satisfied with using this asset. My game is a 2D top-down game. Currently, at the start of the game, either obstacle positions are predetermined or obstacles are generated once during runtime, followed by AstarPath.active.Scan();.

As a new content for the game, during in-game play, I want to generate obstacles at random positions within the game map at regular intervals (every 30 seconds), and when the player destroys the generated obstacle, I want them all to be registered as path obstacles.

However, as mentioned in the documentation, scanning the entire map every 30 seconds with AstarPath.active.Scan(); seems unnecessary and slow. Is there any other good way? For example, a function that rescans only the generated object part…

I came across the function mentioned in the attached screenshot while browsing the documentation! After using a box collider 2D for obstacle objects, would it be sufficient to call the UpdateGraphs (bounds) function with the size and position of the box collider 2D as the bounds? If there’s a better way, please let me know!

Yes, that would be just what you want.

1 Like

Even when I call the function AstarPath.active.UpdateGraphs(), obstacles do not get updated… Am I missing something?

If you scan the graph using the inspector, does it detect the obstacle then?

If it does, double-check your bounding box so that it is correct. Collider bounding boxes are sometimes not actually set by Unity until the next physics update after it is created.

1 Like

After creating an obstacle during runtime, I called AstarPath.active.UpdateGraphs(bounds); to check if it’s processed correctly. I tested it using AstarPath.OnGraphsUpdated += LogMethod; and the log is called properly. Does this mean there might be something wrong with the bounds parameter used in UpdateGraphs?