Raycast Performance on 500+ NPC

Hi there,

I am new to this library (Pro) and everything works great so far, except I am having some performance issues, so I have a few questions in regards to raycast on multiple ai npc using recast graph+RichAI.

When I add richAI to 500 characters (no repath and no rvo) my fps drops to 12-15 from 50. While pathfinding itself is fast, the culprit here seems to be the Physics.Raycasting used by FinalizePosition (AIBase) which is done every frame for every ai, based on the Profiler information.

First Question: If movement raycasting is indeed the culprit here, then changing the graph type/movement script (eg richai, aipath, ailerp etc) or any underlying configuration, wont improve performance, will it?

Second Question: Do you know how Unity navmesh updates ground position? I can get 22-25 fps if I add the same number of NPC into it. I suspect its because of the low level c++ layer used internally, which performs better. What do you say?

Final Question: Is there any scripting technique you know to improve raycasting? (even at the penalty of low quality movement).

Thank you for your attention!
Marco

update: I’ve switched the movement script to IALerp and I now have acceptable performance, even though rvo is not supported.

Hi

1. Maybe raycasting is the culprit, however you can still gain a lot by optimizing the movement scripts.
    One thing is to call all the Update methods from a central place in the code instead of letting Unity do it (see https://blogs.unity3d.com/2015/12/23/1k-update-calls/). My package doesn’t do this at the moment mostly to avoid complicating the code too much.
    You can also remove the Update or FixedUpdate method completely depending on which one the code actually uses (it uses FixedUpdate only if the character has a rigidbody attached). These methods are in the AIBase.cs script which both AIPath and RichAI inherit from.