2D Y-Axis rotation& some noob questions

Hello I’m brand new to this project. Sadly needed for a GameJam @_@
My problem is I’m using the standard 2D setup (My Game is a side scrolling platformer)
However when using the AIPath script, the objects rotate whole(x,y,z) and go inversed, even rotateIn2D on.

I was trying to get the rotation to work exclusively in the y axis but my attempts fail, with the object going elsewhere (normally up)

I apologize for this noob question that’s probably gonna bug some people @u@

How can I constraint the rotation to y axis without hindering the move direction?

Hi

None of the included movement scripts are intended for side scrolling platformer games unfortunately. You can get platformer pathfinding to work using usually a point graph, but it is not a use case that this package is built for.
I think you will want to use some other kind of pathfinding library for this. Here is one other library for example: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/37332.

Thanks @_@ I’ve gotten to do some workarounds and even fixed this issue, however now I keep getting errors when calculating paths. I switched the target from a transform to a vector3 for randomization btw

Path Failed : Computation Time 0.00 ms Searched Nodes 0
Error: 
Path Number 1 (unique id)
UnityEngine.Debug:Log(Object)
AstarPath:LogPathResults(Path) (at Assets/Plugins/AstarPathfindingProject/Core/AstarPath.cs:763)
AstarPath:<InitializePathProcessor>m__2(Path) (at Assets/Plugins/AstarPathfindingProject/Core/AstarPath.cs:1153)
Pathfinding.PathProcessor:CalculatePathsThreaded(PathThreadInfo) (at Assets/Plugins/AstarPathfindingProject/Core/Misc/PathProcessor.cs:374)
Pathfinding.<PathProcessor>c__AnonStorey1:<>m__0() (at Assets/Plugins/AstarPathfindingProject/Core/Misc/PathProcessor.cs:95)

Edit 2 : It turns out it’s a thread thing?