Objects stop moving while pathing

Backstory: I’m trying to iterate on Dragon Force, a Sega Saturn game from 1996. Here’s the type of combat I’m trying to recreate: YouTube

So here’s a video of what I’m seeing. A troop will acquire the nearest target and move towards it. However, with ranged attacks, spells, and knock-backs it’s likely they’ll need to constantly be checking to see if there’s a better target for them.

So here’s my code with the caveat that I’m somewhat new to gamedev but completely new to A* pathfinding. The issue I’m trying to solve is everyone randomly stopping but if you could provide insight or point me in a better direction I’d appreciate that a ton as well.

Each troop is using this mobility script:

using UnityEngine;
using Pathfinding;
using static DragonFauxCore;

public class TroopMobility : MonoBehaviour
{
public Transform target;
public string opponent;

private void Start()
{
       opponent = gameObject.CompareTag("Player") ? "Enemy" : "Player";
        target = GetClosestEnemy(opponent);
        gameObject.GetComponent<TroopDestinationSetter>().target = target;
}

private void Update()
{
if (GetClosestEnemy(opponent) != target)
                {
                    target = GetClosestEnemy(opponent);
                    gameObject.GetComponent<TroopDestinationSetter>().target = target;
                    Debug.Log(gameObject.name + " updating target to " + target);
                }
}

private Transform GetClosestEnemy(string opponent)
    {
        GameObject[] enemies = GameObject.FindGameObjectsWithTag(opponent);
        Transform bestTarget = null;
        float closestDistance = Mathf.Infinity;
        Vector3 currentPosition = transform.position;

foreach (GameObject enemy in enemies)
        {
            float distance = Vector3.Distance(enemy.transform.position, currentPosition);
            if (distance < closestDistance)
            {
                closestDistance = distance;