Root Motion issues

Hi,

First off all im a newb :slight_smile:

I have an animator containing three animations. They are not linked by transition.

Im using the richAI script, with RVO controller and im using local avoidance to prevent overlapping.
This works fine, however root motion and the richAI controller is making the movement looks like they slide when they walk.

Any idea how i can make root motion control the movement to make it look smoother?

Also im using this together with ICE Creature Control.

Anyone? :slight_smile:

I am also looking for this and everything I have found so far is not really working, because it’s for older versions of the plugin.

People say that this works - How do you push a character in a direction but stay in the navmesh like NavMeshAgent.Move()?

But I cant call MovementUpdate like in the example. One more thing is that I never saw the OnAnimatorMove method in the posts I have read.

Really? I tried with like 15 versions now. In the older ones it works, but in those, with root motions on local avoidance fail. The agents overlap each other :frowning :frowning:

Extremely frustrating, been spending 1 week straight on this now !

I am not using local avoidance for now only rich ai, but there is a script called MecanimBridge in the latest version, I have been trying to get it working for the past 1 hour without a success. Maybe take a look and it may work in your case, because I am not using humanoid characters just Generic rigs.

Thanks for the suggestion, but i tried that also, unfortunaly im no expert. But i have tried to modify the script in so many ways, using try and fail method basically.

I used animator and tried to use variables in the mecanimbridge file in the animator setup. But i cannot even get a connection for some reason. Starting to think its a integration issue with ICE. Seems like ICE integration script still connects to the RVO Controller as an actuall Character controller.