Idle AI walking around

Hello A* community,

I’m new to both, this forum and A* Pathfinding project.

Prior to posting this question I looked at this documentation page and searched the forum a bit but couldn’t find the answer. Forgive me if it’s still there, as I learn the ropes of this plugin I’ll hopefully pester you all less.

I’m trying to make my enemies wander around when the player isn’t nearby, instead of remaining in one place.
I’m using a recast graph as my level is randomly generated. So what I’d like to do is get a walkable point on this navmesh within a certain (adjustable) distance from the enemy and make the enemy move towards that point.

I tried using GetNearest but I guess I don’t understand how exactly “nodes” work on a navmesh, as well as how to actually move the AI; the way i’m currently chasing the player is by calling RichAI.UpdatePath() but I don’t quite understand where exactly does the movement happen in seeker.StartPath as the callback isn’t specified and I don’t see any other code doing the actual movement. If you could also explain this, that would be helpful.
Also, it says that GetNearest is very slow, is there any optimized solution for this?

Thanks!

Hi

seeker.StartPath will send a path calculation request and then later it will call the OnPathComplete method in the RichAI component. This is set using these lines in the RichAI script

//Make sure we receive callbacks when paths complete
seeker.pathCallback += OnPathComplete;

GetNearest(Vector3) is not that slow, it is pretty fast. However the GetNearest(Ray) overload is very slow but I doubt that is the one that you would use for this.

One way to do what you want would be something like this

var rndPoint = enemy.position + Random.insideUnitSphere * 10;
 var closestPointOnNavmesh = AstarPath.active.GetNearest(rndPoint).clampedPosition;
 richAI.target.position = closestPointOnNavmesh;