Checking if a destination is on the Grid Graph

Hi So I’m pretty new to AStar and have a couple of questions - I did search a bit through the forums but didn’t see the answers there.

So I have a simple AI Wander behavior setup so that my entity will wander within a circle, picking a random point, moving there, pausing, and repeating that.

Something like:
void Start()
{
basePosition = transform.position;
ChooseNextDestination();
}

void ChooseNextDestination()
{
    Vector2 randOffset = Random.insideUnitCircle * wanderRadius;
    nextDestination = basePosition + new Vector3(randOffset.x, transform.position.y, randOffset.y);
}

I’m looking to incorporate this into AStar, so that I can check if nextDestination is actually on the Grid Graph, if it isn’t I will recheck until it is.

I’d also like to know how to check (if “nextDestination” is infact on the Grid Graph) - how long the path distance would be to get there. This is in case the mob is by a wall or something and picks a point on the other side of the wall which is pathable, but would take a long time to get there, in that case I’d run ChooseNextDestination() again.

If this has been answered somewhere I apologize in advance :slight_smile:

It sounds like you simply want to know how long it would take to get to a given point.
That can be got easily by the totalPathLength (I think it was called that, see docs) on the Path class. So when you get the path back, you simply check if the length was short enough, if it wasn’t, you repick the point, otherwise start following the path.

Thanks, that answers the path length question! What happens if the point is generated off the grid graph? for example the Red dot on the image?

Oh hmm… maybe if it was off the Grid it would make vectorPath null and GetTotalLength is positive infinity? If that’s the case then I guess that solves that problem too!

float GetTotalLength ( )
Total Length of the path.