Can't Get AI With Colliders To Turn Corners

Hello! I’m experimenting with this, and I’m a pretty big noob with A Star, so sorry if this is an obvious one but I’m having the following issue:

https://i.imgur.com/vSjKX7H.gif

The path is being calculated fine, and the agent is moving along it, but when it reaches a collider it needs to go around, it’s only able to do it when it comes from certain angles.

On other angles (as shown in the gif) it gets stuck when both colliders meet.

I was under the impression that the sort of buffer distance between an obstacle (in this case a gameObject with a collider and an unwalkable tag) could be increased but I can’t seem to find how to do so. I tried messing with the Radius variable in the AIPath script but it doesn’t seem to change anyhting.

Any tips with this? I’m happy to post more details if necessary.

Hi

It looks like the walkable surface of your graph is way too close to the edge. Try increasing the A* Inspector -> Grid Graph -> Diameter setting. Or alternatively the erosion iterations setting, but that one is less versatile.

Hello! Thanks for the tips, that’s working well for the objects in the scene that use the layer system, but For the shown obstacle in the gif I was actually using the tag system.

That white box has a GraphUpdateScene attached with an unwalkable tag. This seems to be unaffected by the settings you suggested.

Maybe I’m going about this the wrong way though.

What I’m trying to do is have a system where I can place objects down in the scene during play, and they will become obstacles for the AI. In the past I was doing it with the layer system and then through the code I was rescanning the graph during play, this worked, but it made the game stall for a few seconds every time I had to rescan the graph.

I was under the impression that the tag system was a way of doing this without having to rescan the graph, though maybe I’m wrong.