Agent repathing to previous corner after it has been passed

I’ve put this under Recast as I’m using a Recast graph. I also posted it before but it didn’t get a reply for one reason or another, so I’ll post again and try to explain the issue.

As shown in the GIF the agent passes their nearest steeringTarget/ corner and a few frames later the path goes to the previous corner again. The Repath Rate is set to 1 in this example.

I thought the issue could have been to do with the navmesh, as there are a lot of irregualar shapes in the scene, however, I exported the mesh to Blender and it’s flat/ as expected. I also thought it could be the funnel modifier in RichAI component but I turned that off and noticed the issue again.

corner%20repath

It’s a strange issue and I’m really not sure what it could be. I’ve been fiddling with settings for a few months now to get the best feel. I also can’t remember when the issue cropped up/ after which change…

It is mitigated slightly if I turn on SlowWhenNotFacingTarget but the agent animations don’t look their best and realism is incrediably important in this project.

I’m thinking now it could be something to do with the Seeker so i’ll have a fiddle with that next.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated as it’s making my agents look like they’re slightly mad.

Hey,

Could you post a bit more information about this issue.
A picture of your graph.
Are you using any modifiers
Version
etc.

Thank you

Hi, thanks for the reply. I’m just converting the Recast to a NavMesh. Going to retopologise it in ZBrush as it’s a bit of a polygon soup at the moment. Once I’ve imported it back into the project I’ll test it again. :slightly_smiling_face:

edit: realise that may have come across rude. The polygon soup is just a product of having a complex scene layout.

1 Like

Hey,