Advice on increasing paths

Hi, Ive been using A*Pathfinding for 6 months now and have achieved my initial objectives with it.

However I have issues with using the patrol system whereby the character can not avoid trees and gets stuck behind them & doesn’t resolve to find a route around.

Im assuming I need to increase the number of possible routes but can’t work out from videos and trial and error how to do this and enable the character to have more path options.

I also can’t see the paths except immediately after the scan in Gismos. See attached below.

Any help on increasing paths and viewing them in gismos would be gratefully received, thanks.

Ive fixed being able to see the paths, but my question still remains how to increase paths to help patrol character avoid getting stuck behind trees (if that is the solution to avoiding getting stuck).

…plus being able to cross a narrow path.

Hi

Would you mind posting a screenshot of your graph near those trees, preferably when an agent is stuck there?

Hi Aron, Ive been testing different settings and now have the character just jumps a bit into the air instead of getting stuck at a tree. Still not what I want of course. Unfortunately the gismos aren’t showing the tile my character is currently in, in runtime for some reason so I can’t see to view the paths.

Is there any way I can just increase the amount of paths to provide better options around trees? (maybe along with reducing the walkable climb as well) ?

Hi

Not sure what you mean, in your screenshot I can see the navmesh for all tiles clearly in the gizmos. Some of them seem to be slightly below the terrain so they are a bit faded, but otherwise they are visible.

I’m not sure what you mean by this. Could you clarify?

Yes I see them but they are below, so they aren’t shown around the trees